Anniverary Run 2021

by Race Director Dave Glass

On a beautiful sunny morning, the 26th of September, 2021, exactly 50 years after the inaugural Anniversary Run in 1971, the Golden Anniversary Run of HMRRC started at 9 a.m. with the traditional blowing of a whistle by Race Starter Burke Adams.

An even 100 runners filled the road, 46 for the one lap (2.95 mi.) race around the campus, and 54 for the two lap (5.90 mi.) race.

AnnRaceDerekFinal.jpegDaniel Hao, 10, finishing 16th in the short race, was the youngest competitor while Joe Kelly, 88, finishing 39th, also in the short race, was the oldest.

One-lap race female overall winners were Kerry Hoffman, 17, in 19:50; Karen Kirby, 20, in 24:07; and Trudy Boulia, 49, in 24:19, for an exciting finish and an impressive effort from the ladies.

In the men’s division Habib Affinnih, 20, finished first in 19:34; followed by Andy Campbell, 64, in 20:18 and Steven Jankowski, 47, in 21:10.

In the longer race, female overall winners were Courtney Breiner, 24, in 41:21; Sarah Parks, 41, in 42:39 and Zoe Barclay, 20, in 45:10.

For the men, Keith Machabee, 29, took first in 33:06; six-time former winner Chuck Terry, 39, took second in 33:50 and 1992 winner Bob Irwin, 48, finished third in 36:56.

Also in that race, Derek Staley, 63, (right) finished fifth in 37:50, for an age-graded performance of 84.5%, earning him a copy of Tom Bulger’s new book A Runner’s Memories, Dreams, Reflections.  A book was awarded to anyone 40 years or older who ran at an age-graded performance of 80% or higher.

While the results were being compiled and finishing cards taped to the windows, runners snacked on an assortment of cookies, orchard-fresh apples and apple cider.

First place male and female finishers of both races took home a copy of Tom’s book, and as is traditional, a fresh baked apple pie was given to all six top finishers.  Age-group winners of the longer race received a coupon for a fresh loaf of Bountiful Bread of their choice.

Following the race awards presentation, winners of the HMRRC Distinguished Service and Hall of Fame awards were announced and the recipients received plaques.

                                  Marcia Adams receiving 2020 Hall of Fame Award

       Christine Bishop receiving Distinguished Service Award 2021 from Sally Drake

Note: Official race results published on the website show race lengths of 2.987 and 5.974 miles, after Ed Neiles, using new mapping software, measured and updated the distances.  I don’t doubt their accuracy but I will continue to refer to race lengths of 2.95 and 5.90, for reasons of tradition and convenience.  I simply won’t be able to remember the new lengths to three significant digits!

Thanks to volunteers John Parisella who manned the van, set up the Start/Finish area and marked the course, along with Ed Neiles. And Ken Skinner who assigned course marshal positions (Chris Rush, John Haley and more), Ray Newkirk and others who had the critical job of handing out finisher’s cards (and getting them back), and the lobby registration/results compiling crew of Barbara Sorrell, Maureen Cox, Carol Reardon and Jean Hull.  Kudos to photographers Christine Bishop and Bill Meehan for their contributions to the race and to everyone who helped.

Loading Conversation

Partner Clubs

Partner clubs offer group runs and local races to the Capital Region running community

Create Account

Log In Your Account