Stelmaszyk and O’Connor Win 2016 Bill Robinson Masters 10K Championship

by Jim Tierney

The 26th annual Bill Robinson Masters 10K (6.2 Mile) road race took place, as always, at Guilderland High School on Saturday, April 23, 2016. The out and back course started, as advertised, promptly at 9:00 am. There was a chill in the air with a moderate wind and a temperature ideal for road racing.

83 runners stepped to the starting line to run this challenging, hilly course. When the starting horn sounded, off they went following lead biker Vince Juliano.

Lara Stelmaszyk, the HMRRC Club Secretary, was the first female to cross the finish line. Lara’s time was a very respectable 47:34. Martha DeGrazia finished second with a time of 52:32. Cathy Slinwinski, the HMRRC Club Treasurer, was third with a time of 53:25.

James O’Connor, a very talented masters runner, was the male winner in a time of 35:59. This was the third consecutive year James has won this event. Tom Kracker was second with a time of 37:36, John Stadtlander, the 2013 winner, was third in 37:55. Both Lara and James led the race the entire distance, with James having a commanding lead as he crossed the finish line.

Other female age group winners were Veronica Perez, Linda DeDominicis, Anne Hurley, Jennifer Lawrence, Cathy Sliwinski, Martha DeGrazia, Eiko Bogue, Anny Stockman.

Other male age group winners were Aaron Knobloch, Jon Rocco, Tom Kracker, John Noonan, David Roy, Dave Glass, Tom Kollar, Ed Doucette.

A special note of accomplishment goes out to Eiko Bogue (78) Anny Stockman (83) and Ed Doucette (86) for participating and completing this difficult road race. Congratulations to them. They truly are our inspiration.

A quote from Jim Tierney, Race Director: “Sincerest thanks to each volunteer for their assistance and cooperation. We could not have had this race without you.”


Marcia and Tom Adams

Katherine Ambrosio

Mary Bailey

Chris and Charles Bishop

Frank Broderick

Emily Bryans

Barbara Connolly

Karen Dott

Rich Eckhardt

Tina Hayden

Vince Juliano

Lori Kingsley

Bob Knouse

Barb Light

Charlie Matlock

Bill Meehan

Joan and Lowell Montgomery

Ed Neiles

Ernie Paquin

Jim Russo

Tom Ryan

Neil Sergott

In closing, we all say thank you to the officers and staff and EMT at the Guilderland Police Department for their cooperation, support and guidance in allowing us to put on another safe and successful road race. Also, a sincere thank you to the Guilderland High School staff for their continued assistance and ongoing support for this event.

Loading Conversation

Create Account

Log In Your Account